Thursday, 5 September 2013

Hawkwind's Dave Brock honoured at Prog Magazine awards

Dave Brock, of space rock veterans Hawkwind, has been honoured with a lifetime achievement award at the annual Progressive Music Awards.

The 72-year-old Devon-based musician, the only original member of the group, said it was a "great honour".

Other winners at the Kew Gardens ceremony, included Marillion, who were named band of the year.

The event, now in its second year, was hosted by BBC Newsnight presenter, and prog rock fan, Gavin Esler.

One of the world's longest-running groups, Hawkwind have undergone countless changes of personnel and musical styles.

Along the way, there have been astounding stage spectacles - notably the lavish Space Ritual tour - legal battles, bust-ups, reunions, and the untimely deaths of several members.

Former members and collaborators include Motorhead's Lemmy, science fiction writer Michael Moorcook, ex-Cream drummer Ginger Baker and the late guitarist Huw Lloyd Langton.

After picking up the lifetime achievement award, Brock said: "It's a hard business to be in, with many ups and downs, but I consider music to be an art form. So come on, you young pioneers, there is plenty of room for change in our music world."

Hawkwind, best known for songs such as Silver Machine, Urban Guerrilla and Master of the Universe (used in a recent Ford car advert), released their 27th album Onward in 2012.

Others honoured at the event - organised by Prog Magazine - included Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson, who was named "prog god" and guitarist Steve Hillage, who has played with Gong and System 7, who won the "visionary" award.

Jerry Ewing, editor of Prog Magazine, said: "From household names who've sold millions of albums to newer talent who we hope to see emulate their heroes with whom they've been sharing the room this evening.

"It all goes to show that in it's many varied guises, progressive music remains the most compelling of rock genres."

Source: BBC

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.