Thursday 13 October 2011


In a busy day for award nomination announcements, the shortlist for AIM's inaugural Independent Music Awards was announced this morning.

As previously reported, Björk will receive the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award, while Domino Records founder Laurence Bell will be given the Pioneer Award. The rest of the winners will be announced at a ceremony at Floridita in Soho on 10 Nov hosted by Steve Lamacq and Huw Stephens.

Says AIM CEO Alison Wenham: "In its first year, the AIM Awards have already shone a bright light on some of the most talented and hardworking people in the industry. The response to the awards has been incredible, and signals the start of a new era in recognising a whole new measure of talent and success in music".

And the nominees are...

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year: Rob da Bank (Sunday Best/ Bestival), Ruth Daniel (Fat Northerner Records/unConvention), Martin Goldschmidt (Cooking Vinyl), Julie Weir (Visible Noise/Wiseblood Management)

Best Difficult Second Album: Adele - 21, Bon Iver - Bon Iver, Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues, Friendly Fires - Pala, Toddla T - Watch Me Dance

Catalogue Release Of The Year: Various Artists - Ninja Tune XX, The Fall - The Wonderful & Frightening World Of The Fall/This Nation's Saving Grace (Omnibus Edition), Orange Juice - Coals To Newcastle, Various Artists - Matador At 21

Best Small Label: Ambiguous Records, Naim Edge Records, Smalltown America, Stolen Recordings

Hardest Working Band or Artist: Beardyman, Bring Me The Horizon, Frank Turner, Random Hand

Innovative Marketing Campaign of the Year: Amon Tobin - ISAM (Ninja Tune), Ninja Tune XX (Ninja Tune), Frankie & The Heartstrings - Hunger (Radar Maker), Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma (Warp)

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Bring Me The Horizon, Caro Emerald, The Horrors, SBTRKT

Indie Champion: Tom Robinson (6music), Nathan Clark (Brudenell Social Club), John Robb (Louder Than War), John Doran & Luke Turner (The Quietus)

Golden Welly Award For Best Independent Festival: Bearded Theory, Belladrum, End Of The Road, Y Not Festival

PPL Award for Most Played Independent Artist: Adele, Arctic Monkeys, Vampire Weekend, The xx

Best Live Act: Bring Me The Horizon, Enter Shikari, Frank Turner, Warpaint

Pioneer Award: Laurence Bell, Domino Recording Company

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.