Wednesday 12 October 2011

The Black Keys. New album & dates:

The Black Keys' new album El Camino will be released 5th December on Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys, the 11-track album was recorded at singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011.

In advance of the release, the album’s first single, ‘Lonely Boy’, will be released on 26th October. The complete track-listing is below, plus album artwork and new band photo.

El Camino follows the most successful two years in The Black Keys’ career. In May 2010 they released their breakthrough album, Brothers, to widespread critical acclaim. Debuting at #2 in the US, it went on to win three Grammy Awards and an MTV Video Music Award, and figured highly in numerous year-end lists, including Q, MOJO, iTunes and Rolling Stone. Brothers, which included the hit singles ‘Tighten Up’ and ‘Howlin’ for You’, has been certified Gold in the US and UK, and Platinum in Canada. Worldwide sales are now over one million.

Drummer Patrick Carney said of the band’s recent success, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are. It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend. We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.” Auerbach further describes the band’s dynamic, “We don't talk before we play. We don’t practice before we record, we just fly by the seat of our pants.” He says of El Camino, “I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live. This record is more straight ahead rock and roll – raw, driving, and back to basics.”

The Black Keys released their debut album, The Big Come Up, in 2002, followed by Thickfreakness (2003) and Rubber Factory (2004). In 2006 the band released their fourth album, Magic Potion, which was followed by the Danger Mouse-produced Attack & Release in 2008. El Camino is the first Black Keys album Nonesuch will release worldwide.

To follow the release of the new album The Black Keys have announced a headline tour of Europe in January & February 2012. The band's Alexandra Palace show on 10th Feb sold out within a week of going on-sale. Due to demand, extra dates have been added in Manchester (7th Feb) and London (9th Feb) and will go on sale this Friday… UK live info below:

Friday 3 February – NOTTINGHAM – Capital FM Arena (£21)
Saturday 4 February – EDINBURGH – Corn Exchange (£21)
Monday 6 February – MANCHESTER – Apollo **(SOLD-OUT!)**
Tuesday 7 February – MANCHESTER – Apollo (£21) *
Thursday 9 February – LONDON – Alexandra Palace (£23) *
Friday 10 February – LONDON – Alexandra Palace **(SOLD-OUT!)**

* Extra dates just added due to demand, on-sale 14th October.

El Camino track-list:
1. Lonely Boy
2. Dead and Gone
3. Gold on the Ceiling
4. Little Black Submarines
5. Money Maker
6. Run Right Back
7. Sister
8. Hell of a Season
9. Stop Stop
10. Nova Baby
11. Mind Eraser

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.